The Temple of King Qian is located south of the Yongjin Pond and near the scene of Liulang Wenying in memory of King Qian’s contribution to the history of China. It was originally built in the Northern Song Dynasty (960-1127) to commemorate King Qian Liu, the founder of Wuyue (907-978) during the Five Dynasties and the Ten Kingdoms.
The total area of the reconstructed Memorial is 11,300 square meters with a total area of 4,600 square meters. As a massive building complex near Nanshan Road and the West Lake Museum, it is a must-see destination to learn more about the history of Hangzhou and the West Lake.
Formerly known as the Temple of Loyalty, the temple boasts sublime architecture. The main hall – the Five Kings Hall – is the core part of the temple. There are depicted the five kings of the Wuyue Kingdom. In the center is King Qian Liu. On both sides are King Qian Yuanguan, King Qian Zuo, King Qian Zong and King Qian Chu. The five kings dominated Hangzhou for 86 years and brought prosperity to Hangzhou and were widely admired.