The construction of the Forbidden City began around 1406, and it was completed 14 years later. The client was the third Ming Emperor Yongle. For 491 years it was the seat of a total of 24 emperors.
Located in the center of Beijing, at the northern end of Tian’anmen Square, the Forbidden City has an area of 720,000 m². According to the official data, it has 9999.5 rooms, but according to researchers only 8707, which nevertheless is unique worldwide. Of this, however, not one is a toilet!
Since 1924, after the last imperial family moved out, the Forbidden City is open to the public and today houses the Palace Museum Beijing. In 1987, the Forbidden City was declared a World Cultural Heritage by UNESCO.
Good to know:
Opening Hours: April to October 8:30 – 17:00; November to March 8:30 – 16:30; Ticket sale ends 1 hour in advance; Closed on Mondays; Number of visitors is limited to 80,000 per day
Entrance: 1. April – 31. October 60 Yuan; 1. November bis 31. March 40 Yuan; Foreign visitors must present their passport at the time of purchase;
Tickets for the Galleries: Treasure Gallery (Zhenbao guan) 10 Yuan; Hall of Clocks (Zhongbiao guan) 10 Yuan
Website: en.dpm.org.cn (English)